Pussy Riot Members sentenced to prison for World Cup protest

On July 15th, four members of Pussy Riot rushed onto the field during the 2018 World Cup final in Moscow wearing police uniforms. All four of the members, Veronica “Nika” Nikulshina, Olga Kuracheva, Olga Pakhtusova, and Petya Verzilov, were sentenced to  “15 days in Russian jail,” they are also prohibited from attending sports events for three years.

Pussy Riot claimed responsibility for the action in a statement on social media. The collective said it was a protest of Russia’s political and prison systems and they also released a list of demands to the Russian government: free political prisoners, end “illegal arrests at protests,” and “allow political competition in the country.”

The Melodic Tree’s Weekly Playlist

1. Memorabilia – Mimicking Birds

2. Foreign Bodies – Radiation City

3. Malibu Yurt – Charles Brand

4. Airwalker – Jeremy Jay

5. Birds – Electrelane

6. Rip It Up – Orange Juice

7. Born Too Late – Dent May

8. Tony Stark – The Symposium

9. Snack Attack – A Great Big Pile of Leaves

10. Ann Wants to Dance -Papooz

11. Extremely Bad Man – Shintaro Sakamoto

12. Accidents – The One AM Radio

13. firefly – gobbinjr

14. Glue – Bernice

15. Crying On The Subway – Hana Vu

16. Walk Away – Buzzy Lee

17. Ballad 5 – Tess Roby

18. Pews – NADINE

19. Winter is Cold – Caroline Says

20. Takes One to Know One – Olden Yolk

Massive Attack cancel festival performance due Franz Ferdinand set

Massive Attack canceled their performance last night at Mad Cool Festival in Madrid, Spain, due to a scheduling conflict with Franz Ferdinand. According to a statement from Mad Cool, Massive Attack said that “the sound of the stage where Franz Ferdinand was playing at the time would bother them during the performance of their show.” The festival organizers said that they “did everything possible to delay schedules of other bands,” but Massive Attack had already made the “unilateral decision” cancel.Franz Ferdinand’s frontman, Alex Kapranos, responded to the statement with an emoji. See the full statement.

Franz Ferdinand played from 1:30 to 2:50 a.m. at the Madrid te Abraza stage, while Massive Attack were supposed to to play at the Loop stage from 1:45 to 3:00 a.m.

Childish Gambino teases “Summertime Starts Here” events

Childish Gambino is linked to a series of “Summertime Starts Here” events that are taking place overthe course of this weekend in New York, L.A., and London. A website and Instagram account appeared the promoting events at New York City’s Union Square on July 13th, and Fort Greene Park on July 14th, L.A.’s Santa Monica Pier on July 14th and Fairfax High School July 15th. As well as London’s Lovebox festival on Saturday, the same night Childish Gambino headlines the festival.



JPEGMAFIA announces “The Reverse Christopher Columbus Tour,” shares new song

Baltimore-based experimental rapper and producer, JPEGMAFIA, has announced “The Reverse Christopher Columbus Tour” to support his recent album, Veteran. The beatmaker will start his journey in Vancouver, BC on August 29th and will play through the upper and lower United States before heading to Brussels, Belgium on November 11th.

He has also shared a new track from recording Veteran called “Millennium,” which the press release calls a “half remix/half cover inspired by the Backstreet Boys’ 1999 classic ‘I Want It That Way’ but touched by JPEG’s signature eclectic production and flowing lyricism.” Listen to it below as well as the tour dates.

The Reverse Christopher Columbus tour:

08.29.18 – Vancouver, BC – Fortune
08.30.18 – Portland, OR – Peter’s Room at Roseland Theater
08.31.18 – Seattle, WA – Bumbershoot Festival
09.02.18 – Philadelphia, PA – Made in America
09.14.18 – Baltimore , MD – Metro Gallery
09.15.18 – Washington DC – Songbyrd
09.18.18 – Philadelphia PA – PhilaMOCA
09.23.18 – Allston, MA – Great Scott
09.25.18 – Toronto, ON – Drake Hotel
09.27.18 – Montreal, QC – Le Ministere
09.28.18 – Urbana, IL – Pygmalion Festival
09.30.18 – Phoenix, AZ – Gold Rush
10.14.18 – San Francisco, CA – Treasure Island Music Festival
10.30.18 – Paris, France – Pitchfork Avant-Garde
11.01.18 – London, UK – Scala
11.02.18 – Manchester, UK – Charles Street Auction House
11.03.18 – Frankfurt, Germany – Mousonturm
11.06.18 – Berlin, Germany – Berghain
11.07.18 – Copenhagen, Denmark – Loppen
11.09.18 – Utrecht, Netherlands – Le Guess Who
11.10.18 – Köln, Germany – Veedel Club
11.11.18 – Brussels, Belgium – AB Club

Los Campesinos! announce 10th anniversary tour

Los Campesinos! have announced a North American tour in November in support of the 10-year anniversaries of their first albums, Hold On Now, Youngster… and We Are Beautiful, We Are Doomed. They will head out on the road with Adult Mom and Illuminati Hotties. Check out the tour poster below.


Toro Y Moi announces U.S. tour

Toro Y Moi has announced the Outer Peace Tour which starts in November. Chaz Bear will perform songs from his last year’s Boo Boo. The U.S. trek takes place in November. Find Chaz Bear’s upcoming dates below.

Toro Y Moi:

08-03 Montreal, Quebec – Osheaga Music and Arts Festival %
08-04 Long Island City, New York – MoMA PS1 %
08-04 Brooklyn, NY – Elsewhere %
09-22 Los Angeles, CA – 88rising: Head in the Clouds %
10-13-14 Oakland, CA – Treasure Island Music Festival %
11-01 Santa Barbara, CA – Soho Music Club
11-02 Los Angeles, CA – The Novo
11-06 Chicago, IL – Thalia Hall
11-07 Detroit, MI – El Club
11-09 Boston, MA – Royale
11-10 Brooklyn, NY – Elsewhere
11-12 Washington, DC – 9:30 Club
11-13 Philadelphia PA – Union Transfer
11-15 Asheville, NC – Orange Peel
11-16 Atlanta, GA – Variety Playhouse
11-17 Columbia, SC – The Senate

% with Nosaj Thing as Laff Trax