The Helio Sequence announces new album

The Helio Sequence will release their upcoming self-titled album May 19th from Sub Pop. The 10-track album will be their sixth and is the follow-up to Negotiations, released in 2012. It was produced and mixed by the band in the Old Jantzen Building in Portland and mastered by Greg Calbi, who also worked with Father John Misty, Sleater-Kinney, and The War on Drugs, at Sterling Sound.

The album came from a session of “The 20-Song Game” according to a press release:

Songwriters would arrive in their studios at prearranged times and spend all day recording 20 complete songs. When they were finished, they’d have a party, listen to the results and talk about the process — of taking the good with the bad, of letting creativity push past constraint, of simply making music in the moment. Brandon Summers and Benjamin Weikel took the spirit of the “The 20-Song Game” to heart, and forged ahead writing a new record.

In May of 2014, inspired by the “20-Song Game”, they began arriving each morning in their Portland space — housed in the cafeteria and break room of an old warehouse — with the mission of making as much music as possible in one month.

The first preview of The Helio Sequence comes from “Stoic Resemblance,” which you can listen to below.

The Helio Sequence Tracklist:
01. Battle Lines
02. Stoic Resemblance
03. Red Shifting
04. Upward Mobility
05. Leave Or Be Yours
06. Deuces
07. Inconsequential Ties
08. Seven Hours
09. Phantom Shore
10. Never Going Back

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.