Of Montreal announce new album Innocence Reaches, shares new song “it’s different for girls”

Of Montreal have announced a new album, Innocence Reaches. This is the follow-up to 2015’s Aureate Gloom and Snare Lustrous Doomings and is set to be out on August 12th through Polyvinyl. The first single from the album, “it’s different for girls,” premiered earlier today on Zane Lowe’s Beats 1 show. Listen to it and see the tracklist below and cover art above.

In a press release, Barnes said that he was immensely influenced by contemporary music while making Innocence Reaches. “Forever I’ve been detached from current music,” he explains. “I got into this bubble of only being in some other time period. I came up picking apart the Beach Boys, the Beatles, and symphonic pieces. But last year, I was hearing Jack Ü, Chairlift, Arca, and others, thinking about low end and sound collage. It was an extra layer to geek out on.”

Innocence Reaches:

01 let’s relate
02 it’s different for girls
03 gratuitous abysses
04 my fair lady
05 les chants de maldoror
06 a sport and a pastime
07 ambassador bridge
08 def pacts
09 chaos arpeggiating
10 nursing slopes
11 trashed exes
12 chap pilot

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.