Ryuichi Sakamoto Announces New Album async

Ryuichi Sakamoto has announced a new album, async, set to be out April 28th via Milan. It is the Japanese composer’s first studio album since Three in 2012, with Jaques Morelenbaum and Judy Kang, and his first solo album in 8 years. Sakamoto recorded the album in New York, having inspiration from “everyday objects, sculpture, and nature,” according to a press release. Find the tracklist below and artwork above. The world premiere listening event for the album will be at Big Ears Festival in Knoxville, Tennessee, which takes place from March 23-26th. Sakamoto is set to perform also on April 25th and 26th at Park Avenue Armory Veterans Room in New York. The album will follow the 2015 score he did for Alejandro González Iñárritu’s film The Revenant. It is his first studio album since his recovery from cancer in 2015 as well.


01 andata
02 disintegration
03 solari
05 walker
06 stakra
07 ubi
08 fullmoon
09 async
10 tri
11 Life, Life
12 honj
13 ff
14 garden
15 water state 2 [vinyl-only bonus track]

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.