Mitski announces new album Be The Cowboy, shares new song “Geyser”

Mitski has announced a new album, Be The Cowboy out August 17th via Dead Oceans. “For this new record, I experimented in narrative and fiction,” Mitski said in a statement. While recording with her long-time producer Patrick Hyland, she said they continuously returned to “the image of someone alone on a stage, singing solo with a single spotlight trained on them in an otherwise dark room.” She continued, “For most of the tracks, we didn’t layer the vocals with doubles or harmonies, to achieve that campy ‘person singing alone on stage’ atmosphere.”

Mitski has also shared the album’s first single and video. Watch the video for “Geyser,” directed by Zia Anger below as well as the LP’s tracklist.

Be The Cowboy:

01 Geyser
02 Why Didn’t You Stop Me
03 Old Friend
04 A Pearl
05 Lonesome Love
06 Remember My Name
07 Me and My Husband
08 Come Into the Water
09 Nobody
10 Pink in the Night
11 A Horse Named Cold Air
12 Washing Machine Heart
13 Blue Light
14 Two Slow Dancers

One comment

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.