M. Ward announces new album, More Rain, shares “Girl From Conejo Valley”

M. Ward will release a new studio album called More Rain on March 4th. Set out via Merge, it will be the singer-songwriter’s eighth album to date after A Wasteland Companion in 2012. The 12-track LP, which has tracks named “Pirate Dial,” “Confession,” and “You’re So Good to Me,” features collaborations with R.E.M.’s Peter Buck, Neko Case, k.d. lang, The Secret Sisters, and Joey Spampinato of NRBQ.

Ward began working on the LP four years ago, according to a press release, and he originally envisioned it as a doo-wop record. It is now considered a “true gotta-stay-indoors, rainy-season record that looks upwards through the weather while reflecting on his past.”

“I think one of the biggest mysteries of America right now is this: How are we able to process unending bad news on Page One and then go about our lives the way the Style section portrays us?” Ward noted in a statement. “There must be a place in our brains that allows us to take a bird’s-eye view of humanity, and I think music is good at helping people-myself included-go to that place.”

Ward, who works in She & Him and Monsters of Folk, as a preview, has shared the track “Girl From Conejo Valley.” Stream it below, followed by the tracklist.

More Rain Tracklist:
01. More Rain
02. Pirate Dial
03. Time Won’t Wait
04. Confession
05. I’m Listening (Child’s Theme)
06. Girl From Conejo Valley
07. Slow Driving Man
08. You’re So Good To Me
09. Temptation
10. Phenomenon
11. Little Baby
12. I’m Going Higher

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.