M. Ward

M. Ward surprise releases new album What a Wonderful Industry

M. Ward has released a new album, What a Wonderful Industry. The surprise record has an appearance from Jim James from My Morning Jacket on the songs, “Miracle Man” and “Bobby.” Find the album and his  statement about it below.

This is a record inspired by people in the industry I have known—heroes and villains in equal measure. There’s some beautiful moments when you travel for a living, and I’m grateful for being part of an industry that’s taken me around the world so many times—but you quickly learn there’s a perfectly imperfect balance of cold-blooded and warm-blooded animals in the zoo. This record visits the most memorable characters. There’s a lot of very inspirational people I’ve had the pleasure to work with but there are also a few I wish I’d never met. It all tragically ends with an imaginary Griffin Mill-inspired murder ballad.

The Melodic Tree’s Weekly Playlist

1. These Days – Nico

2. Chinese Translation – M. Ward

3. Vacation – Florist

4. Lust For Life – Girls

5. Rabid Bits of Time – Chad VanGaalen

6. Grace – Clem Snide

7. Buriedfed – Miles Benjamin Anthony Robinson

8. I Wish I Was The Moon – Neko Case

9. I Can See The Pines Are Dancing – A.A. Bondy

10. Spill Yer Lungs – Julie Doiron

11. Metarie – Brendan Benson

12. Dynamite Walls – Hayden

13. Your Arms Around Me – Jens Lekman

14. The Mending of the Gown – Sunset Rubdown

15. Family and Genus – Shakey Graves

16. Free Translator – The Books

17. Special Death – Mirah

18. A Flower In A Glove – Frog Eyes

19. Yesterday’s World – Circulatory System

20. Roll On – Dntel

M. Ward performs “Confession” and “Girl From Conejo Valley” on Colbert

In almost a month, M. Ward will come back with More Rain, his first solo album in four years. To promote the follow-up to Wasteland Companion, the singer-songwriter performed on Late Show last night with a smooth rendition of “Confession.” He also performed “Girl From Conejo Valley” as an online bonus.

Watch both videos below.

More Rain will arrive March 4th via Merge. It features collaborations with Peter Buck of R.E.M., Neko Case, k.d. lang, The Secret Sisters, and Joey Spampinato of NRBQ.

M. Ward announces new album, More Rain, shares “Girl From Conejo Valley”

M. Ward will release a new studio album called More Rain on March 4th. Set out via Merge, it will be the singer-songwriter’s eighth album to date after A Wasteland Companion in 2012. The 12-track LP, which has tracks named “Pirate Dial,” “Confession,” and “You’re So Good to Me,” features collaborations with R.E.M.’s Peter Buck, Neko Case, k.d. lang, The Secret Sisters, and Joey Spampinato of NRBQ.

Ward began working on the LP four years ago, according to a press release, and he originally envisioned it as a doo-wop record. It is now considered a “true gotta-stay-indoors, rainy-season record that looks upwards through the weather while reflecting on his past.”

“I think one of the biggest mysteries of America right now is this: How are we able to process unending bad news on Page One and then go about our lives the way the Style section portrays us?” Ward noted in a statement. “There must be a place in our brains that allows us to take a bird’s-eye view of humanity, and I think music is good at helping people-myself included-go to that place.”

Ward, who works in She & Him and Monsters of Folk, as a preview, has shared the track “Girl From Conejo Valley.” Stream it below, followed by the tracklist.

More Rain Tracklist:
01. More Rain
02. Pirate Dial
03. Time Won’t Wait
04. Confession
05. I’m Listening (Child’s Theme)
06. Girl From Conejo Valley
07. Slow Driving Man
08. You’re So Good To Me
09. Temptation
10. Phenomenon
11. Little Baby
12. I’m Going Higher

The Melodic Tree’s Weekly Playlist

1. The Bleeding Heart Show – The New Pornographers

2. Nearly Midnight, Honolulu – Neko Case

3. This is Love (Feels Alright) – Camera Obscura

4. Clean Slate – M. Ward

5. Tamer Animals – Other Lives

6. Gun Shy – Widowspeak

7. Carissa – Sun Kil Moon

8. Black Water – Timber Timbre

9. There Can Only Be One – Cass McCombs

10. Baby’s Arms – Kurt Vile

11. From the Sun – Unknown Mortal Orchestra

12. Unless You Speak From Your Heart – Porcelain Raft

13. Sparkly – Young Magic

14. Try to Be – Blue Hawaii

15. The Rat – the Walkmen

16. Plumage – Menomena

17. I Say Fever – Ramona Falls

18. Beach – Peter Wolf Crier

19. WHALE – Yellow Ostrich

20. Forest Whitaker – Bad Books

Melodic Tree’s Weekly Playlist