Animal Collective premiere new album Tangerine Reef

Animal Collective has returned with Tangerine Reef, their audiovisual collaboration with “avant-garde coral macro-videography” duo Coral Morphologic, today. The album and film are both below. Find the album on Apple Music here.

The project is in celebration of the 2018 International Year of the ReefTangerine Reef originally premiered during David Lynch’s Festival of Disruption earlier this year in New York.

The film aspect of Tangerine Reef takes viewers into the oceans to explore the rare reefs of the oceans and to find “a literal underwater collective of animals,” as a press release notes. Also according to the press release, there was no artificial enhancement used in the film which meant the “visual tone poem consisting of time-lapse and slow pans across surreal aquascapes of naturally fluorescent coral and cameos by alien-like reef creatures” are 100% natural.


Tangerine Reef Tracklist:
01. Hair Cutter
02. Buffalo Tomato
03. Inspector Gadget
04. Buxom
05. Coral Understanding
06. Airpipe (To A New Transition)
07. Jake And Me
08. Coral By Numbers
09. Hip Sponge
10. Coral Realization
11. Lundsten Coral
12. Palythoa
13. Best Of Times (Worst Of All)

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.