Frightened Rabbit

Death Cab for Cutie cover Frightened Rabbit’s “My Backwards Walk”

Death Cab for Cutie have covered “My Backwards Walk,” a song by former tour mates Frightened Rabbit in tribute to frontman Scott Hutchinson. It was originally on Frightened Rabbit’s album The Midnight Organ Fight. Hear Death Cab’s version below. Frightened Rabbit also recently announced their first performance since the passing of frontman Scott Hutchison, taking place in Glasgow on December 9.


Frightened Rabbit’s Scott Hutchison Dead at 36

Frontman of Scottish indie band Frightened Rabbit, Scott Hutchison, has died, the BBC reports. Hutchison’s family reported him missing on Wednesday to Scottish police after he never returned to his hotel in South Queensferry, Scotland. His body was found at Port Edgar at around 8:30 p.m the next night. On friday morning, the police confirmed the body as Hutchison. The First Minister for Scotland is among the many to have paidtribute.

His family said they were “utterly devastated with the tragic loss of our beloved Scott,” the BBC reports. The surviving members of the band wrote in a statement, “There are no words to describe the overwhelming sadness and pain that comes with the death of our beloved Scott but to know he is no longer suffering brings us some comfort.”

On May 9th, Frightened Rabbit’s accounts on social media posted a message asking for fans to tell the police if they had any information about Hutchison’s whereabouts. “We are worried about Scott, who has been missing for a little while now,” it said. “He may be in a fragile state and may not be making the best decisions for himself right now.”

Hutchison had tweeted from his Owl John Twitter account the previous night, “Be so good to everyone you love. It’s not a given. I’m so annoyed that it’s not. I didn’t live by that standard and it kills me. Please, hug your loved ones. I’m away now. Thanks.”

On a song on Frightened Rabbit’s 2008 album The Midnight Organ Fight,“Floating in the Forth,” Hutchinson’s lyrics included him imagining dying in Scotland’s River Forth, sayonh, “Am I ready to leap? / Is there peace beneath / The roar of the Forth Road Bridge?” and “I think I’ll save suicide for another year.” Hutchison’s body was found on the banks of the River Forth, near the Forth Road Bridge.

The Mirror shared a statement released by Hutchison’s family via Police Scotland that reads:

As a family, we are utterly devastated with the tragic loss of our beloved Scott. Despite his disappearance, and the recent concerns over his mental health, we had all remained positive and hopeful that he would walk back through the door, having taken some time away to compose himself. Scott, like many artists, wore his heart on his sleeve and that was evident in the lyrics of his music and the content of many of his social media posts. He was passionate, articulate and charismatic, as well as being one of the funniest and kindest people we knew. Friends and family would all agree that he had a brilliant sense of humour and was a great person to be around.

In addition to his musical success, Scott was a wonderful son, brother, uncle and friend. Despite whatever else was going on in his life he always had time for those he cared for. Depression is a horrendous illness that does not give you any alert or indication as to when it will take hold of you. Scott battled bravely with his own issues for many years and we are immensely proud of him for being so open with his struggles. His willingness to discuss these matters in the public domain undoubtedly raised awareness of mental health issues and gave others confidence and belief to discuss their own issues.

To all of those who have come forward with such kind messages of support over the past couple of days, we wish to express our most sincerest of thanks. We have been overwhelmed by the love that has been conveyed, not only to Scott, but to our family. It means the world to us. We also want to thank Police Scotland and the Dakota Hotel for all of their assistance since Wednesday. We now ask that our privacy be respected so that we may come to terms with our loss.


Frightened Rabbit announce new album Painting of a Panic Attack, tour dates

Frightened Rabbit have announced a new album, Painting of a Panic Attack, which is due out April 8th on Canvasback/Atlantic. It was produced by Aaron Dessner from the National at his studio in Brooklyn. They’re also going on tour with Caveman, their first U.S. dates in almost three years. Check out the dates below, and hear new track “Death Dream” below.

Painting of a Panic Attack:

01 Death Dream
02 Get Out
03 I Wish I Was Sober
04 Woke Up Hurting
05 Little Drum
06 Still Want to Be Here
07 An Otherwise Disappointing Life
08 Break
09 Blood Under the Bridge
10 400 Bones
11 Lump Street
12 Die Like a Rich Boy

Frightened Rabbit:

04-21 Portland, OR – Wonder Ballroom
04-22 Boise, ID – Knitting Factory Concert
04-23 Salt Lake City, UT – The Complex
04-24 Denver, CO – Ogden Theatre
04-27 Minneapolis, MN – Varsity Theater
04-28 Milwaukee, WI – Pabst Theater
04-29 Indianapolis, IN – The Vogue
04-30 Detroit, MI – St Andrews Hall
05-02 Columbus, OH – Newport Music Hall
05-03 Louisville, KY – Headliners Music Hall
05-05 New York, NY – Terminal 5
05-06 Philadelphia, PA – Electric Factory
05-07 New Haven, CT – College Street Music Hall
05-08 Washington, D. C. – 930 Club
05-09 Boston, MA – House of Blues
05-12 Saxapahaw, NC – Haw River Ballroom
05-13 Knoxville, TN – The International
05-15 Atlanta, GA – Shaky Knees Music Festival
05-17 San Antonio, TX – Paper Tiger
05-20 Phoenix, AZ – The Crescent Ballroom
05-21 Solana Beach, CA – Belly Up Tavern
05-24 Los Angeles, CA – The Fonda Theatre
05-26 San Francisco, CA – The Regency Ballroom
05-27 Sacramento, CA – Ace of Spades
05-28-30 George, WA – Sasquatch Festival

The Melodic Tree’s Weekly Playlist

1. Neighborhood #1 (Tunnels) – Arcade Fire

2. Under the Texas Sky – Ferraby Lionheart

3. X’s On Your Eyes – Nightmare and the Cat

4. 2 Atoms in A Molecule – Noah and the Whale

5. New Slang – the Shins

6. Cape Cod Kwassa Kwassa – Vampire Weekend

7. Mississippi Isabel – King Charles

8. Can’t Stop Now – Keane

9. Acts of Man – Frightened Rabbit

10. Relax, Take it Easy – MIKA

11. Thieves & Kings – the Peach Kings

12. Light Out – Javelin

13. Lovers -Brothertiger

14. Silver Screen – Beat Connection

15. I Wanna Go – Summer Heart

16. Corvette Cassette –  Slow Magic

17. Tonight – Tourist

18. Lover’s Spit – Broken Social Scene

19. The Skin of My Yellow Country Teeth – Clap Your Hands Say Yeah

20. Walking – The Dodos

Melodic Tree’s Weekly Playlist