Death Cab For Cutie

Death Cab for Cutie cover Frightened Rabbit’s “My Backwards Walk”

Death Cab for Cutie have covered “My Backwards Walk,” a song by former tour mates Frightened Rabbit in tribute to frontman Scott Hutchinson. It was originally on Frightened Rabbit’s album The Midnight Organ Fight. Hear Death Cab’s version below. Frightened Rabbit also recently announced their first performance since the passing of frontman Scott Hutchison, taking place in Glasgow on December 9.


Listen to Death Cab for Cutie’s first show ever

Death Cab for Cutie are celebrating the 20th anniversary of being a band by releasing a rare audio recording of their first show. The set was recorded on a dictaphone at The Pacer House in Bellingham, Washington on November 22nd, 1997. Benjamin Gibbard wrote in a statement, “None of us thought we were starting a band nor did our ambitions for DCFC extend very far past this particular evening. We simply thought it would be fun to play these songs for our friends before moving on to other things.“ He concluded, “It was one of the greatest nights of my life at the time and its significance has only grown since.” Listen to the show below, and download it here. All proceeds will go to Seattle non-profit Aurora Commons.

Governor’s Ball lineup has been announced

The Governors Ball Music Festival will take place between June 3-5 on Randall’s Island in New York City. The festival has shared its full 2016 lineup today. Kanye West, the Strokes, and the Killers headline. The poster was created by Kanye’s creative agency, DONDA.

The lineup will also include Eagles of Death Metal, Beck, Robyn, Death Cab for Cutie, M83, Haim, Chvrches, Father John Misty, Jamie xx, Bloc Party, Miguel, Big Grams, Action Bronson, Purity Ring, Courtney Barnett, Joey Bada$$, De La Soul, Vince Staples, Against Me!, Bat for Lashes, Thundercat, Torres, Bully, and many more.

Kanye had previously headlined the festival back in 2013 and the Strokes in 2014.

Death Cab For Cutie announce tour dates

Death Cab for Cutie announced more shows behind this year’s Grammy-nominated Kintsugi.  They will co-headline Metric’s Lights On The Horizon Tour on various dates; find a full list of dates below.

Death Cab For Cutie:

12-08 Seattle, WA – KeyArena
12-10 Los Angeles, CA – Orpheum Theatre
12-11 Oakland, CA – Oracle Arena
12-15 Spokane, WA – INB Performing Arts Center !
12-16 Portland, OR – Crystal Ballroom
12-17 Portland, OR – Crystal Ballroom
01-21-23 Todos Santos, Mexico – Todos Santos Music Festival
02-20 Wellington, New Zealand – Opera House Wellington
02-23 Auckland, New Zealand – St. James Theatre
02-27 Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia – K-L Live
03-01 Hong Kong, China – Macpherson Stadium
03-03 Bangkok, Thailand – Moonstar Studio
03-05 Manila, Philippines – Wanderland Music & Arts Festival
03-07 Sentosa Island, Singapore – The Coliseum at The Hard Rock Hotel
03-19 Montreal, Quebec – Bell Centre ^
03-20 Kingston, Ontario – Rogers K Rock Centre ^
03-22 St. Catherines, Ontario – Meridian Centre ^
03-23 Toronto, Ontario – Air Canada Centre ^
03-24 London, Ontario – Budweiser Gardens ^
03-27 Winnipeg, Manitoba – MTS Centre ^
03-28 Regina, Saskatchewan – Conexus Art Centre ^
03-29 Edmonton, Alberta – Rexall Place ^
03-30 Calgary, Alberta – BMO Centre ^
04-01 Vancouver, British Columbia – Doug Mitchell Thunderbird Sports Centre ^
06-16-19 Dover, DE – Firefly Music Festival
07-15-17 Louisville, KY – Forecastle Festival

! with the Helio Sequence
^ with Metric

Watch the video for “Black Sun”:

The Melodic Tree’s Weekly Playlist

1. Teenage Talk – St. Vincent

2. I’ll Believe In Anything – Wolf Parade

3. Choices – The Hoosiers

4. Home – Jack Savoretti

5. Should Have Known Better – Sufjan Stevens

6. No Room In Frame – Death Cab for Cutie

7. Love Is To Die – Warpaint

8. For You – Angus & Julia Stone

9. 4th Time Around – Oren Lavie

10. Line of Fire – Junip

11. The Soul Serene – Villagers

12. How Can I – Laura Marling

13. Tears of Joy – Slow Club

14. Be Gentle With Me – The Boy Least Likey To

15. Cherry Tulips – Headlights

16. Oh Mandy – The Spinto Band

17. Walk In The Park – OH NO OH MY

18. In The Beginning – The Stills

19. Wrong Choice – The Lovely Feathers

20. Battles On – The Ghost is Dancing

Death Cab For Cutie perform “Black Sun” on David Letterman

Last night (January 29th), Death Cab for Cutie performed on Late Show with David Letterman for the first time with their new lineup. The band played the latest song off their upcoming album, Kintsugi, “Black Sun.” The band played through the song, although Letterman had questions for the band from Washington. Letterman asked Ben Gibbard, frontman, “Have you been up Mount Whitney?” After Gibbard responded no, Letterman asked what the title of the album meant in which he replied that it was “a manner of repairing Japanese ceramics.” Kintsugi is due out on March 31st and watch the video here.

Death Cab For Cutie to release new album

Indie rock band, Death Cab For Cutie announced details for a new studio album. The album is named Kintsugi and is the eighth LP and will be released on March 31st.

The title is a reference to, as the bassist Nick Harmer said, a “Japanese style of art where they take fractured, broken ceramics and put them back together with very obvious, real gold. It’s making the repair of an object a visual part of its history.”

The frontman Ben Gibbard also added, “This is an opportunity for the band to become something it could only become by losing a founding member. It’s our goal to make records that rank amongst the best work we’ve ever done. I completely respect and understand why people love Transatlanticism or We Have the Facts… or Narrow Stairs. And I would hope that as we move forward, people listen with as little prejudice as they can and try to hear the music for what it is and not what they want it to be.”

Check out the 11-song track list below.

Kintsugi Tracklist:
01. No Room in Frame
02. Black Sun
03. The Ghosts of Beverly Drive
04. Little Wanderer
05. You’ve Haunted Me All My Life
06. Hold No Guns
07. Everything’s a Ceiling
08. Good Help (Is So Hard to Find)
09. El Dorado
10. Ingénue
11. Binary Sea