Parquet Courts

Watch Parquet Courts perform with the Baltimore Symphony Orchestra

Parquet Courts, during their show at the Meyerhoff Symphony Hall tonight, performed with the Baltimore Symphony Orchestra. The orchestral performance was conducted by Nicholas Hersh and was a part of the BSO Pulse concert program that showcases classical music and indie artist collaborations. Watch Parquet Courts perform their Wide Awake! tracks “Mardi Gras Beads” and “Wide Awake!” below.

The Melodic Tree’s Weekly Playlist

1. Around – Jaded Juice Riders

2. Long Gone – Phum Viphurit

3. When Did We Stop – New Move

4. The Rose – Common Holly

5. Fifteen on a Skateboard – Diners

6. Barbacoa – Guantanamo Baywatch

7. Still Apart – Varsity

8. Can of Worms – Gold Celeste

9. Dreamphone – Peach Kelli Pop

10. House of Leaves – Salvia Plath

11. Central Park Blues – Ultimate Painting

12. In Other Words – Shopping

13. Grass – Hoops

14. Pressure – Gleemer

15. Pretty Prizes – Daniele Luppi, Parquet Courts, Karen O

16. Playgrounds – Gingerlys

17. Great Waves – Dirty Three

18. Louise – Acetone

19. Little Plane – tomemitsu

20. Orphans to the Smog – Death of Lovers

Fun Fun Fun Fest announces 2015 lineup

Austin-based festival, Fun Fun Fun fest has revealed its lineup for 2015. The festival, on its 10th anniversary, will take place November 6th to 8th at Auditorium Shores.

Included on the lineup are acts such as D’Angelo, Wu-Tang Clan, CHVRCHES, Jane’s Addiction, who are performing Ritual de lo habitual, Ride, L7, Future Islands, Grimes, Chromeo, MSTRKRFT, Coheed and Cambria, Desaparecidos, Drive Like Jehu, American Nightmare, Gogol Bordello, performing Gypsy Punk, Converge, Neon Indian, Cass McCombs, Antemasque, Hudson Mohawke, Peaches, and Fucked Up.

On the lineup as well is British heavy metal band, Venom, who are performing their first-ever Texas performance at the festival. D.C. hardcore band dag nasty are also reuniting during the weekend to play.

Other acts are ScHoolboy Q, NOFX, Odesza, Toro y Moi, FUZZ, Mikal Cronin, OFF!, American Football, Parquet Courts, Benjamin Booker, Viet Cong, Alvvays, Joey Bada$$, Doomtree, Shamir, BadBadNotGood, Dwarves, performing Blood, Guts & Pussy, Andrew Jackson Jihad, together PANGEA, Babes in Toyland, The Growlers, King Khan and BBQ Show, and Big Freedia.

Three-day and VIP passes are avaliable for purchase at the festival’s website. Check out the full lineup above and watch the lineup announcement video, which stars Bill Nye the Science Guy, on the website as well.

Parquet Courts to release Live at Third Man Records

The indie rock band Parquet Courts played a set at Hack White’s Third Man Records in June. The recording of the performance will be released on March 3rd.

Named Parquet Courts: Live at Third Man Records, the band played 11 tracks from their discography including Sunbathing Animal “Black & White,” “Always Back In Town,” and “Dear Ramona” from Sunbathing Animal.

Listen to the clips of live versions of “Vienna II” and “Sunbathing Animal” here and see the tracklist below.

Parquet Courts: Live at Third Man Records Tracklist:
01. Duckin & Dodgin
02. Bodies
03. Black & White
04. Vienna II
05. Always Back In Town
06. Dear Ramona
07. Descend
08. Instant Disassembly
09. Raw Milk
10. Into the Garden
11. Sunbathing Animal

The live album is the latest of the installment in the label’s direct-to-acetate live album series. Previous bands and artists that have performed were The Shins, King Tuff, Divine Fits, and The Kills.

Coachella’s 2015 line-up has been announced

The 2015 Coachella line-up has been revealed including headliners such as Jack White, Drake, and AC/DC, as well as sub-headliners such as Florence & the Machine, Tame Impala, St. Vincent, Ryan Adams, Interpol, Belle & Sebastian, Alt-J, Ride, and The Weeknd.

Amongst the other acts are Steely Dan, Alabama Shakes, Lykke Li, Caribou, Ratatat, Azealia Banks, Flying Lotus, Raekwon and Ghostface Killah, Tyler the Creator, Father John Misty, Jenny Lewis, SBTRKT, The War on Drugs, Run the Jewels, Swans, Toro y Moi, Panda Bear, FKA twigs, Drive Like Jehu, Desparecidos, Built to Spill, Action Bronson, Jamie xx, Perfume Genius, Mac DeMarco, Eagulls, Angel Olsen, Vic Mensa, Todd Terje, Squarepusher, The Orwells, The Cribs, Brand New, Antemasque, Marina and the Diamonds, Haerts, St. Lucia, and Parquet Courts.

The California-based music festival will take place between the weekends of April 12th – 14th and April 17th – 19th. Tickets will go on-sale tomorrow (January 7th).