The Internet

The Internet announce tour

The Internet have announced a tour in support of their new album Hive Mind and it starts in October and will end in December. The group will perform cities like Chicago, Los Angeles, Vancouver, Houston, and more. See their full itinerary below. The band are also opening for Gorillaz during a number shows in October.

Solange working on music with the Internet’s Steve Lacy

Solange has begun working on new music. In a new story on the cover of Billboard, she revealed that she has been “jamming” with Steve Lacy from the Internet. During the interview, Solange said that she is “not interested in entertainment at this moment.” She continues saying, “That might change. There might be a moment where I decide, ‘Hey, I love the game.’ For right now, I’m not [there].”

Afropunk Brooklyn’s 2016 lineup announced

Afropunk has announced the lineup for this year’s Brooklyn festival, which is set to take place August 27-28th at Commodore Barry Park. Ice Cube, Janelle Monáe, Tyler the Creator, TV On The Radio, Flying Lotus, the Internet, Cee Lo Green, George Clinton, Angel Haze, Kelela, Saul Williams, Skunk Anansie, Shabazz Palaces, Thundercat, Trash Talk, Prayers, and Downtown Boys will perform, as well as a “Superjam” from members of Bad Brains, Fishbone, and Living Colour. The theme is “Power to the Party;” check out the manifesto below and the poster above. Afropunk released the following statement about the theme:

Power, it’s a feeling, it’s an energy, it’s the undisputed connection between cause and effect – the best of us give it away, the worst usurp it, but living modern life to the fullest, means either mastering your relationship to it or walking in its shadow. We are not blind.
Party is an oxymoron, it’s a gathering of many for a shared purpose and it’s also an outcast individual, it’s a lively social occasion as well as a gang – and the story of any party is never over, because like naked cities and the metaphysical “I”, there’s always another take.
Power to the Party means trusting the friction, the transference of great capacity to the free spirit, belief in the high-heeled spark of the assembly, and the group-mind’s ability to choose a glorious path. This isn’t about getting elected, or being protected; it’s about staking a claim.
Join the party and feel its power

The Internet cover N.E.R.D.’s “Tape You”

The Internet currently are in Australia for St. Jerome’s Laneway Festival. While there, the band went to the famous Australian radio station triple j to play a couple of tracks in studio, which includes a cover of N.E.R.D.‘s “Tape You.” The song is from N.E.R.D.’s album In Search of…. Watch the Internet’s cover below.

The Internet worked with Chad Hugo fromN.E.R.D. in 2013. He produced “Dontcha” from their album Feel Good.

Listen to N.E.R.D.’s “Tape You”:

The Melodic Tree’s Weekly Playlist

1. You Are The Right One – Sports

2. Wildman – Sun Drug

3. Fanfare – Magic City Hippies

4. Just Tell Me – Nico Yaryan

5. London – Grace Acladna

6. I Tried – Folded Like Fabric

7. Lonely Roller – Steven A. Clark

8. Why iii Love The Moon – Phony PPl

9. Weight In Gold – Gallant

10. Anchor – Sophia Black

11. Cry – Major Myjah

12. Forbidden Knowledge – Raury

13. Worry – Jack Garratt

14. Locket – Kilo Kish

15. Girl – The Internet

16. Lie – Sam Dew

17. Pools – Harrison Brome

18. Fast Lane – Rationale

19. Warm – SG Lewis

20. Warm On A Cold Night – HONNE