Solange working on music with the Internet’s Steve Lacy

Solange has begun working on new music. In a new story on the cover of Billboard, she revealed that she has been “jamming” with Steve Lacy from the Internet. During the interview, Solange said that she is “not interested in entertainment at this moment.” She continues saying, “That might change. There might be a moment where I decide, ‘Hey, I love the game.’ For right now, I’m not [there].”

Solange opens up about health issues

Solange has cancelled her headlining set at Afropunk Festival Johannesburg on New Year’s Eve because of a recent diagnosis of an autonomic disorder. In a statement on Instagram, she talks about her health issues. “The past five months I have been quietly treating, and working through an Autonomic Disorder,” she writes. “It been a journey that hasn’t been easy on me… Sometimes I feel cool, and other times not so cool at all.” She explains that her Afropunk cancellation is due to doctors’ orders, writing, “Right now, my doctors are not clearing me for such an extended lengthy flight, and doing a rigorous show right after.” View her full note below.

Solange pens 5-year anniversary tribute to True

Solange celebrated the 5-year anniversary of her True EP today with a touching statement on Instagram. “I’ll always hold it close to my heart,” she writes. “It will always remind me of a time of freedom and fear.” She also thanked her fans and collaborators, saying, “I will never take for granted how you make/made me feel.” Read the whole thing below. Dev Hynes, who worked with Solange on the EP, also shared a statement for its anniversary. “Sister Solange changed my life with this one,” he writes. “I learnt things about myself personally that are still being put into practice.” Read his post here.

Billboard also announced that Solange will receive its Impact Award at the 2017 Women in Music Awards. The award honors women who use their voices “to empower and develop new leaders of tomorrow through their on-air persona, platform, and philanthropic efforts to inspire social change across the masses.” The event is set to take place on November 30th.

The Melodic Tree’s Weekly Playlist

1. Plastic – Moses Sumney

2. Cranes in the Sky – Solange

3. Something For Your M.I.N.D. – Superorganism

4. Keep Pushing On – John Maus

5. Why Didn’t I? – Palberta

6. I’m a Kid – Jadu Heart

7. Deathless – Ibeyi

8. Wednesday Night Atonement – Curtis Harding

9. Close But Not Quite – Everything is Recorded

10. Cupid – The Big Moon

11. Feel it Out – yaeji

12. Pillow Palace – Cherusii

13. No worries – Suzanne Kraft

14.Nakhodka – Khotin

15. Depths (Pt.1) – Yumi Zouma

16. Faithless – Heavenly Beat

17. Close Your Eyes – Tape Wave

18. Essence – Jade TV

19. Value – Hideous Towns

20. Get High – Tender Age

Solange returns to Twitter

Solange has returned to Twitter after deleting her account on the platform in August. She shared photos from the Hurricane Harvey benefit she played earlier tonight in Boston, and her Hollywood Bowl show from last weekend. Solange left Twitter after the rise of neo-nazi rhetoric after the violent incidents in Charlottesville, Virginia. She mentioned Takiyah Thompson, the 22-year-old Carolina Central University student in her final tweet, who was arrested for taking down a Confederate monument in Durham, North Carolina.

Day For Night lineup has been announced

The other day, Day for Night, the art and music festival in Houston, Texas, announced its 2017 lineup. Among the headliners are Nine Inch Nails, Thom Yorke, Solange, Justice, St. Vincent, Tyler, the Creator, and James Blake. Also on the lineup are Jamie xx, Pussy Riot, Godspeed You! Black Emperor, Sky Ferreira, Cardi B, Perfume Genius, Laurie Anderson, Lil B, Jlin, Priests, Mount Kimbie, and Jenny Hval. GAS will also be playing the festival, making it his first show in the United States since 2009. Day for Night 201 will take place December 15-17. See the full lineup here.

On the first day of the festival, there is going to be a summit with talks by Chelsea Manning, Laurie Anderson, Pussy Riot’s Nadya Tolokonnikova, and Los Angeles-based artist Lauren McCarthy. After the summit, there is going to be a “Soul Cleansing,” a performance presented by Saint Heron that will feature Solange, Earl Sweatshirt, and Kaytranada. Day for Night also will have 18 installations from artists including Ryoji Ikeda, Matthew Schreiber, and Felicie D’Estienne D’Orves.

A part of the earnings from this year’s Day for Night is going to be donated to the Greater Houston Community Foundation to help people in areas affected by Hurricane Harvey.

Last year’s festival featured the first Aphex Twin set in the States since 2008.

Watch Solange in new film go behind the scenes of A Seat at the Table early stages

Solange released her brilliant new album A Seat at the Table last week. In a documentary called A Seat at the Table, Beginning Stages, she shares footage of the creation of the album. Watch it below. Solange says the film is “a look at the early days of jam sessions, experimentation, and the exploring of sounds and ideas for the album.” It shows Solange working on early versions of “Don’t Touch My Hair,” “Mad,” “Don’t You Wait,” “Where Do We Go,” and more. Sampha, Kwes, Kindness, Sean Nicholas Savage, Patrick Wimberly, Solange’s son Julez, and more make appearances. Find a statement from Solange about the film.

“A Seat At The Table, Beginning Stages” is a look at the early days of jam sessions, experimentation, and the exploring of sounds and ideas for the album.

While some of the jam sessions featured did not make the album, they helped to create and identify the sonic tone, and the early lyrics and concepts I wrote for the project.

This video is broken up into 3 different parts. The first and second parts happened in Long Island and New Orleans where I first started to jam and collaborate on ideas with the incredible artists and musicians featured (as well as some other incredible artist and musicians who are not shown here). A lot of these days would just start with me singing a melody or someone playing a synth part or bass line, and would transition into an hour long jam.

The third part is me taking all of these jams to New Iberia, LA with just my engineers and creating the actual song structures, building the sounds, and writing the lyrics and melodies.

I later took these songs to Los Angeles to work with Raphael Saadiq to help amplify the production, as well as record the vocals alongside Troy Johnson. When I look back at the beginning stages, I remember the powerful energy that set the tone, and that I’m so grateful followed us everywhere during the creation of this record.