Sufjan Stevens

Sufjan Stevens releases rare song “Lonely Man of Winter”

Sufjan Stevens’ extremely rare song from 2007, “Lonely Man of Winter,” which he wrote for the winner of his “Xmas Song Xchange Contest.” The winner Alec Duffy played it for fans at exclusive listening parties around the world, and has been unavailable publicly ever since. Listen to the full “Lonely Man of Winter” single below.

The full single arrives with a brand new version which was produced by Doveman and features Melissa Mary Ahern. The single also includes Duffy’s contest-winning song “Every Day Is Christmas.” The release will be available on vinyl December 7th via Asthmatic Kitty. All proceeds will go towards JACK, a Brooklyn non-profit venue which Duffy serves as founder and artistic director.

Sufjan Stevens and Angelo De Augustine share new “Time” video

Singer-songwriter Angelo De Augustine has released a live version of his track “Time.” The video features Sufjan Stevens on piano. Watch their performance  from Manhattan’s Reservoir Studios below. “Time” is a single from Augustine’s upcoming album Tomb, which is set to be out January 18 via Sufjan’s Asthmatic Kitty Records. The LP was produced by Thomas Bartlett.

Sufjan Stevens also directed the music video for Angelo De Augustine’s song “Crazy, Stoned & Gone” from Augustine’s last album Swim Inside the Moon last year.

The Melodic Tree’s Weekly Playlist

1. The Embers – Vagabon

2. On My Own – Alex Greenwald

3. I Don’t Feel So Alive – Gabriella Cohen

4. Pool Party – Julie Jacklin

5. Motion Sickness – Phoebe Bridgers

6. Addictions – Lucy Dacus

7. Wrong For You – Molly Burch

8. Cave – Ruby Haunt

9. Make Out in My Car – Sufjan Version – Moses Sumney, Sufjan Stevens

10. Drinking Song – Haley Heynderickx

11. One Of These Days – Bedouine

12. Wool in the Wash – Crying

13. Geyser – Mitski

14. Columbia River – Lomelda

15. SIck – Peaer

16. Crane Your Neck – Lady Lamb

17. Strange Darling – Miya Folick

18. She Won’t Go Away – Faye Webster

19. If After All – Common Holly

20. Golden – Becca Mancari

Listen to Sufjan Stevens perform on “Live From Here”

Sufjan Stevens was the guest on the newest episode of “Live From Here.” He performed “Tonya Harding, ““Heirloom,” and his songs from Call Me By Your Name, “Visions of Gideon” and “Mystery of Love.” He also performed a hymn he said he sung growing up in the United Methodist Church. He said, “I was struck by it as a kid because it’s actually really dark and gloomy.” Listen to the performance, at the 13:00, 53:00, 1:43:30, and 1:54:45 marks.

Sufjan Stevens shares new “Life with Dignity” bideo

Sufjan Stevens has released a new video for the Helado Negro-remixed track “Life with Dignity.” Watch it through Apple Music. The video follows three cancer patients, Theresa, Roland, and Justin as they battle the disease. The song is featured on Stevens’ new mixtape The Greatest Gift, and is remixed from his Carrie & Lowell song “Death With Dignity.”

Sufjan Stevens directs new stop-motion video for “The Greatest Gift”

Sufjan Stevens has directed a stop-motion video for the title track from his new mixtape, “The Greatest Gift”. The clip stars a cast of religious figures and joyful stock-photo people, all made from cutouts of photos and illustrations. They are placed with reassuring maxims in printed text saying things like “Give generously to all without finding fault” and “Donkeys can be very useful in an emergency.” Watch it below. The Greatest Gift—Outtakes, Remixes, & Demos from Carrie & Lowell is the companion piece to Sufjan’s Carrie and Lowell and is streaming at NPR ahead of its release tomorrow.

Listen to Sufjan Stevens’ new song “Wallowa Lake Monster”

Sufjan Stevens will release The Greatest Gift Mixtape — Outtakes, Remixes, & Demos from Carrie & Lowell on November 24th, a companion piece to his album Carrie & Lowell. He has shared the latest song from the piece, “Wallowa Lake Monster,” which makes several references to “Dungeons & Dragons.” Hear it below.