The Pains of Being Pure at Heart

Real Estate, Yo La Tengo, Guided By Voices and more auctioning songs for Surfer Blood’s Thomas Fekete

Thomas Fekete, the guitarist for Surfer Blood, was diagnosed with a rare form of cancer this year. The band is now raising funds to cover the cost 0f treatment for Fekete by selling unreleased songs by various artists.

Surfer Blood, Real Estate, Yo La Tengo, Guided By Voices, Julianna Barwick, Cults, the Pains of Being Pure at Heart, … And You Will Know Us by the Trail of Dead, Lou Barlow, Nick Diamonds, the Drums, the Ghost of a Saber Tooth Tiger, and Alex Somers (of Jónsi and Alex) all shared tracks. The tracks go from a GBV live cut from 1994 to a Cults outtake to a Ghost of a Saber Tooth Tiger song from 2009 when Mark Ronson was a member of the band. Nick Diamonds and Surfer Blood also contributed new songs.

Each track is being auctioned as a single lathe-cut vinyl 7″. All 13 tracks are available for download if you donate $10 or more. Find the tracklist below.

There are also items up for auction that have autographs from Yoko Ono and the Flaming Lips, Interpol and Shepard Fairey, Sleigh Bells, Sharon Van Etten, and Angel Olsen. Everything can be found here.

In May, Surfer Blood’s van was broken into as well. In addition to taking gear and personal items, the thieves also took donations that were collected for Fekete.

01 Guided By Voices: “Motor Away” (live)
02 Yo La Tengo: “Can’t Forget” (live)
03 Cults: “Hurting”
04 Real Estate: “Talking Backwards” (demo)
05 The Pains of Being Pure at Heart: “Between These Boys” (demo)
06 Lou Barlow: “Sunshine / Money / Thirsty”
07 The Ghost Of A Saber Tooth Tiger: “Rainbows In Gasoline” (unreleased version)
08 Nick Diamonds: “Be A Comedian”
09 Julianna Barwick: “Promise”
10 Alex Somers: “Well”
11 The Drums: “Help Him”
12 …And You Will Know Us by the Trail of Dead: “F Train”
13 Surfer Blood: “Tidal Wave” (demo)

The Pains of Being Pure at Heart announce new EP Hell, cover “Laid” by James

New York indie pop band, the Pains of Being Pure at Heart, have announced their new EP. Named Hell, it will be out on November 13th through their own label, Painbow. They have also released the first track off the EP, a cover of “Laid” by James. Listen to it below and check out the track listing below and cover art above, which was made by Manuel Bujados.

They are also playing dates in London and Asia. Check those out below.

The band’s Kip Berman wrote in a press release:

A couple months ago I posted a demo for the song “Hell” and some people said, “why don’t you record that for real?” So we went over to my friend Danny’s studio (House Under Magic) and recorded the track along with two cover songs – “Ballad of the Band” by Felt and “Laid” by James as a way to mark our forthcoming tour of Japan. The latter has lead vocals by Jen Goma, who sang on our last album and also performs with the excellent pop contortionists, A Sunny Day in Glasgow. The Felt song is really the UR-Felt song, the wry articulation of what Felt is most famous for – not being an eighth as famous as they ought to be.

The song “Hell” is about how insufferable performances of sensitivity are when there’s a good song playing and someone you want to dance with.


01 Hell
02 Ballad of The Band (Felt Cover)
03 Laid (James Cover)

The Pains of Being Pure at Heart:

11/06 London, England – The Oval *
11/10 Tokyo, Japan – Club Quattro
11/11 Osaka, Japan – Club Quattro
11/28 Hong Kong – Cockenflap Festival
11/29 Singapore – Neon Lights Festival

* with the Pastels

The Melodic Tree’s Weekly Playlist

1. Avalanche – Walk The Moon

2. Art Smock – The Pains of Being Pure at Heart

3. Si un jour – La Femme

4. All Our Love – Gentlemen Hall

5. Treehouse – Gold Fields

6. The Suburbs – Mr Little Jeans

7. Get Me Golden – Terraplane Sun

8. House of Fire – Black Taxi

9. Atonement – The Kickdrums

10. People Change – Wildlife Control

11. Late Nights – Brown Shoe

12. Kick It – Dirt Farmer

13. Jumanji – Glass Towers

14. Fly Under the Radar – Stillwater Giants

15. Top Floor – Split Seconds

16. Dead Loss – Little Scout

17. Fire Fire Fire – Dappled Cities

18. Dance Again – Skipping Girl Vinegar

19. Vitriol – Bluejuice

20. Coca Cola – Little Red