Yo La Tengo

Yo La Tengo cover Neil Young’s “Time Fades Away”

Yo La Tengo have released a cover of Neil Young’s “Time Fades Away” for a Spotify Single as well as an in-studio version for “Shades of Blue” from this year’s LP, There’s a Riot Going On. Listen to the songs below.


Yo La Tengo announce European tour

Yo La Tengo have announced a number of European shows that they will start in April 2018 in Ireland and wrap up in Belgium in May. The band will also play their first Hanukkah shows in 5 years before the tour during an eight-night run at New York’s Bowery Ballroom. Check out the full itinerary below. Along with the tour announcement, Matador wrote: “MIGHT THIS TOUR HAVE SOMETHING OR OTHER TO DO WITH NEW RECORDINGS? Maybe. Possibly. Who can really say for sure in confusing times such as these.”

Yo La Tengo:

12-12 New York, NY – Bowery Ballroom
04-28 Dublin, Ireland – Olympia Theatre
04-29 Glasgow, Scotland – SWG3
04-30 Manchester, England – Manchester Academy 2
05-01 Birmingham, England – Birmingham Town Hall
05-03 Leeds, England – Church Leeds
05-04 London, England – Royal Festival Hall
05-06 Amsterdam, Netherlands – Paradiso
05-07 Berlin, Germany – Heimathafen
05-08 Cologne, Germany – Gloria Theatre
05-09 Munich, Germany – Munchner Kammerspiele
05-11 Zagreb, Croatia – Pogon Jedinstvo
05-12 Belgrade, Serbia – Dom Omladine
05-13 Budapest, Hungary – A38 Ship
05-15 Milan, Italy – Fabrique
05-16 Fribourg, Switzerland – Fri-Son
05-17 Schorndorf, Germany – Manufaktur
05-19 Paris, France – Le Cabaret Sauvage
05-20 Brussels, Belgium – Ancienne Belgique

Real Estate, Yo La Tengo, Guided By Voices and more auctioning songs for Surfer Blood’s Thomas Fekete

Thomas Fekete, the guitarist for Surfer Blood, was diagnosed with a rare form of cancer this year. The band is now raising funds to cover the cost 0f treatment for Fekete by selling unreleased songs by various artists.

Surfer Blood, Real Estate, Yo La Tengo, Guided By Voices, Julianna Barwick, Cults, the Pains of Being Pure at Heart, … And You Will Know Us by the Trail of Dead, Lou Barlow, Nick Diamonds, the Drums, the Ghost of a Saber Tooth Tiger, and Alex Somers (of Jónsi and Alex) all shared tracks. The tracks go from a GBV live cut from 1994 to a Cults outtake to a Ghost of a Saber Tooth Tiger song from 2009 when Mark Ronson was a member of the band. Nick Diamonds and Surfer Blood also contributed new songs.

Each track is being auctioned as a single lathe-cut vinyl 7″. All 13 tracks are available for download if you donate $10 or more. Find the tracklist below.

There are also items up for auction that have autographs from Yoko Ono and the Flaming Lips, Interpol and Shepard Fairey, Sleigh Bells, Sharon Van Etten, and Angel Olsen. Everything can be found here.

In May, Surfer Blood’s van was broken into as well. In addition to taking gear and personal items, the thieves also took donations that were collected for Fekete.

01 Guided By Voices: “Motor Away” (live)
02 Yo La Tengo: “Can’t Forget” (live)
03 Cults: “Hurting”
04 Real Estate: “Talking Backwards” (demo)
05 The Pains of Being Pure at Heart: “Between These Boys” (demo)
06 Lou Barlow: “Sunshine / Money / Thirsty”
07 The Ghost Of A Saber Tooth Tiger: “Rainbows In Gasoline” (unreleased version)
08 Nick Diamonds: “Be A Comedian”
09 Julianna Barwick: “Promise”
10 Alex Somers: “Well”
11 The Drums: “Help Him”
12 …And You Will Know Us by the Trail of Dead: “F Train”
13 Surfer Blood: “Tidal Wave” (demo)