Sharon Van Etten

Sharon Van Etten announces new album Remind Me Tomorrow, shares song

Sharon Van Etten has announced a new studio album titled Remind Me Tomorrow which is set to be out January 18th via Jagjaguwar. She has shared “Comeback Kid” from the LP. Listen to the song, and also find the album’s tracklist below.

Remind Me Tomorrow

01 I Told You Everything
02 No One’s Easy to Love
03 Memorial Day
04 Comeback Kid
05 Jupiter 4
06 Seventeen
07 Malibu
08 You Shadow
09 Hands
10 Stay

The Melodic Tree’s Weekly Playlist

1. God Only Knows – The Beach Boys

2. I Can’t Make You Love Me – Bonnie Raitt

3. Ask Her to Dance – Coconut Records

4. So Many Things to Tell You – Mark Redito

5. Cavalier – James Vincent McMorrow

6. Callow – Novo Amor

7. Francis Forever – Mitski

8. I Wanna Boi – PWR BTTM

9. Lousy Connection – Ezra Furman

10. Listen to the Man – George Ezra

11. I Love You So – The Walters

12. Sleepwalking – Modest Mouse

13. All I Want Is You – Barry Louis Pollsar

14. A Crack in Time – Ferraby Lionheart

15. Friday I’m In Love – The Cure

16. Our Love – Sharon Van Etten

17. Heartbeats – The Knife

18. Flaws – Vancouver Sleep Clinic

19. Say Yes – Elliott Smith

20. Maps – Yeah Yeah Yeahs

Watch Bon Iver’s Justin Vernon, the National’s Dessners cover Sharon Van Etten’s “Love More”

MusicNOW is a music festival that is collaboration-focused held every year in Cincinnati, Ohio, founded by the National’s Bryce Dessner. It hold its 11th year March 18-20. The lineup has been announced today.

MusicNOW has shared a highlight from the festival’s history to accompany the announcement. Watch professionally-shot video of a 2010 performance of Bon Iver’s Justin Vernon, Bryce and Aaron Dessner, Colin Stetson, and yMusic covering Sharon Van Etten’s “Love More” below. Fan footage has been around previously, and audio of the cover was on a MusicNOW compilation last year.

This year’s MusicNOW will show the world premiere of Bryce Dessner’s full orchestra version of his Aheym, and the U.S. premiere of his piece Réponse Lutoslawski, both being performed by the Cincinnati Symphony Orchestra. The lineup will include Kronos Quartet, Punch Brothers, Sam Amidon, Julia Wolfe, Luluc, and more. You can check out the full details here.

Real Estate, Yo La Tengo, Guided By Voices and more auctioning songs for Surfer Blood’s Thomas Fekete

Thomas Fekete, the guitarist for Surfer Blood, was diagnosed with a rare form of cancer this year. The band is now raising funds to cover the cost 0f treatment for Fekete by selling unreleased songs by various artists.

Surfer Blood, Real Estate, Yo La Tengo, Guided By Voices, Julianna Barwick, Cults, the Pains of Being Pure at Heart, … And You Will Know Us by the Trail of Dead, Lou Barlow, Nick Diamonds, the Drums, the Ghost of a Saber Tooth Tiger, and Alex Somers (of Jónsi and Alex) all shared tracks. The tracks go from a GBV live cut from 1994 to a Cults outtake to a Ghost of a Saber Tooth Tiger song from 2009 when Mark Ronson was a member of the band. Nick Diamonds and Surfer Blood also contributed new songs.

Each track is being auctioned as a single lathe-cut vinyl 7″. All 13 tracks are available for download if you donate $10 or more. Find the tracklist below.

There are also items up for auction that have autographs from Yoko Ono and the Flaming Lips, Interpol and Shepard Fairey, Sleigh Bells, Sharon Van Etten, and Angel Olsen. Everything can be found here.

In May, Surfer Blood’s van was broken into as well. In addition to taking gear and personal items, the thieves also took donations that were collected for Fekete.

01 Guided By Voices: “Motor Away” (live)
02 Yo La Tengo: “Can’t Forget” (live)
03 Cults: “Hurting”
04 Real Estate: “Talking Backwards” (demo)
05 The Pains of Being Pure at Heart: “Between These Boys” (demo)
06 Lou Barlow: “Sunshine / Money / Thirsty”
07 The Ghost Of A Saber Tooth Tiger: “Rainbows In Gasoline” (unreleased version)
08 Nick Diamonds: “Be A Comedian”
09 Julianna Barwick: “Promise”
10 Alex Somers: “Well”
11 The Drums: “Help Him”
12 …And You Will Know Us by the Trail of Dead: “F Train”
13 Surfer Blood: “Tidal Wave” (demo)

Sharon Van Etten made a surprise appearance on New Zealand television makes newscaster break down in tears

John Campbell, a New Zealand newscaster is a fan of Sharon Van Etten and was sad that he could not go to her show in Auckland tonight because of a previous plan. However, his colleagues did not want him to be bummed thus they had Van Etten appear to his surprise during his show, “Campbell Live”. Campbell was so overwhelmed, he began to cry. After the welcome, Van Etten began to perform “Tarifa” from Are We There, which was released last year. You can watch the video here.

Sasquatch lineup announced

The Sasquatch! Music Festival will return on May 22-25 to the Gorge Amphitheater. The festival lineup has been announced today, the lineup can been seen above.

This year’s lineup includes Kendrick Lamar, Robert Plant & The Sensational Space Shifters, Modest Mouse, Lana Del Rey, The Decemberists, Tame Impala, St. Vincent, Spoon, James Blake, Chromeo, Hot Chip, Sbtrkt, Schoolboy Q, The New Pornographers, The War On Drugs, The Glitch Mob, Little Dragon, Gogol Bordello, Father John Misty, Run The Jewels, Jose Gonzalez, Jenny Lewis, Mø, Real Estate, Future Islands, Ab-Soul, Glass Animals, Sohn, Jungle, Sharon Van Etten, Action Bronson, Perfume Genius, Sylvan Esso, Rustie, Courtney Barnett, King Tuff, San Fermin, Alvvays, Will Butler, Twin Peaks, Merchandise, Nothing, Bishop Nehru, Ex Hex, Diarrhea Planet, Ought, Natalie Prass, S (Jenn Ghetto), and amongst others.

The Melodic Tree’s Weekly Playlist

1. Digital Witness – St. Vincent

2. Every Time the Sun Comes Up – Sharon Van Etten

3. October – Broken Bells

4. I’m Only Joking – Kongos

5. Four Walls – Broods

6. Silhouettes – Colony House

7. Do You – Spoon

8. Do It Like You Do – Lettuce

9. Pressure – My Brightest Diamond

10. I Can See Clearly Now – Jimmy Cliff

11. Take It As It Comes – J. Roddy Walston and the Buisness

12. How Good Does It Feel – Empires

13. Long Time Coming – Saints of Valory

14. Water Fountain – Tune-Yards

15. Girl That I Love – Falls

16. Ordinary Girl – Rebelution

17. Bad Wings – The Glitch Mob

18. I’m a Cuckoo – Belle and Sebastian

19. Give Me A Reason – The Rosebuds

20. Right Time – Nikki Lane

Melodic Tree’s Weekly Playlist