Jenny Hval

The Melodic Tree’s Weekly Playlist

1. Family and Friends – Young Jesus

2. Perfect Song – Special Explosion

3. Long zWave – Bonny Doon

4. Natural Devotion – The Spirit of the Beehive

5. Smoking Rock With an Angel in Milwakee – American Pleasure Club

6. 17 – Cool American

7. (You’re Better) Than Ever – illuminati hotties

8. SHort Court Style – Natalie Prass

9. Night Shift – Lucy Dacus

10. Nobody – Mitski

11. Three Futures – TORRES

12. House Show – Strange Ranger

13. Cubic Zirconia – No Thank You

14. The Bug Collector – Haley Heynderickx

15. Spells – Jenny Hval

16. Carcassonne – Angelo De Augstine

17. More of the Same – Caroline Rose

18. Sleep – Hatchie

19. Natural – Tanukichan

20. O.M.G. (I’m All Over It) – Jenn Champion

Jenny Hval announces The Long Sleep EP on Sacred Bones, shares new single

Jenny Hval has announced release of a new EP, recorded “with longtime collaborator Håvard Volden and producer Lasse Marhaug,” on Sacred Bones called The Holy Sleep on May 25th. It  will show Hval “embracing an instinctive, even subconscious, approach to creating meaning” and “the act of composition itself, letting the melodies and structures reveal the other elements of the songs.”


Hval said in a statement:

What am I doing here? Am I communicating? Am I promoting?

I just want to tell you something.

There should be something I could tell you, there should be something I could do to reach you directly, but there is nothing useful in the way we define “you”, or “me”. There should be something I could tell you, there should be something I could say directly without lyrics and melody.

Maybe that’s what I’m trying here. Something else than lyrics or melody. It’s not the words. It’s not in the rhythm. It’s not in the streaming. It’s not in the “message”. It’s not in the product. It’s not in the algorithms. It’s not something you decided. It’s not something they decided for you.

I want to tell you something. I just want to say: Thank you. I love you.

Pre-order the album here. And listen to the first single, “Spells” below:

The Long Sleep’s short tracklist:

01. Spells
02. The Dreamer Is Everyone In Her Dream
03. The Long Sleep
04. I Want To Tell You Something

Day For Night lineup has been announced

The other day, Day for Night, the art and music festival in Houston, Texas, announced its 2017 lineup. Among the headliners are Nine Inch Nails, Thom Yorke, Solange, Justice, St. Vincent, Tyler, the Creator, and James Blake. Also on the lineup are Jamie xx, Pussy Riot, Godspeed You! Black Emperor, Sky Ferreira, Cardi B, Perfume Genius, Laurie Anderson, Lil B, Jlin, Priests, Mount Kimbie, and Jenny Hval. GAS will also be playing the festival, making it his first show in the United States since 2009. Day for Night 201 will take place December 15-17. See the full lineup here.

On the first day of the festival, there is going to be a summit with talks by Chelsea Manning, Laurie Anderson, Pussy Riot’s Nadya Tolokonnikova, and Los Angeles-based artist Lauren McCarthy. After the summit, there is going to be a “Soul Cleansing,” a performance presented by Saint Heron that will feature Solange, Earl Sweatshirt, and Kaytranada. Day for Night also will have 18 installations from artists including Ryoji Ikeda, Matthew Schreiber, and Felicie D’Estienne D’Orves.

A part of the earnings from this year’s Day for Night is going to be donated to the Greater Houston Community Foundation to help people in areas affected by Hurricane Harvey.

Last year’s festival featured the first Aphex Twin set in the States since 2008.