Mount Kimbie

Mount Kimbie announce new DJ-Kicks mix

Mount Kimbie have announced they will be the next in line to do the DJ-Kicks mix series. The duo, Aka Dominic Maker and Kai Campos have created the next mix and it will arrive September 28th through !K7. The mix was inspired by Mount Kimbie’s stint of shows with producer Actress, and it includes “plenty of the tracks” that were played on the tour making it into the mix.

There is also an unreleased track, “Southgate,” which was made exclusively for the mix and was “initially influenced by Stanislav Tolkachev and Alexis Perala,” who are also included in the mix. Take a listen to that below.

Day For Night lineup has been announced

The other day, Day for Night, the art and music festival in Houston, Texas, announced its 2017 lineup. Among the headliners are Nine Inch Nails, Thom Yorke, Solange, Justice, St. Vincent, Tyler, the Creator, and James Blake. Also on the lineup are Jamie xx, Pussy Riot, Godspeed You! Black Emperor, Sky Ferreira, Cardi B, Perfume Genius, Laurie Anderson, Lil B, Jlin, Priests, Mount Kimbie, and Jenny Hval. GAS will also be playing the festival, making it his first show in the United States since 2009. Day for Night 201 will take place December 15-17. See the full lineup here.

On the first day of the festival, there is going to be a summit with talks by Chelsea Manning, Laurie Anderson, Pussy Riot’s Nadya Tolokonnikova, and Los Angeles-based artist Lauren McCarthy. After the summit, there is going to be a “Soul Cleansing,” a performance presented by Saint Heron that will feature Solange, Earl Sweatshirt, and Kaytranada. Day for Night also will have 18 installations from artists including Ryoji Ikeda, Matthew Schreiber, and Felicie D’Estienne D’Orves.

A part of the earnings from this year’s Day for Night is going to be donated to the Greater Houston Community Foundation to help people in areas affected by Hurricane Harvey.

Last year’s festival featured the first Aphex Twin set in the States since 2008.

The Melodic Tree’s Weekly Playlist

1. Bruises Chairlift

2. Oh! You Pretty Things – Au Revoir Simone

3. Dressed in Dresden – The Hundred in the Hands

4. Lay Your Cards Out – Poliça

5. House – Kindness

6. Depak Ine – John Talabot

7. You – Gold Panda

8. Motion – Balam Acab

9. Carbonated – Mount Kimbie

10. A New Error – Moderat

11. Arcadia – Apparat

12. The Birds – Telfon Tel Aviv

13. Everything You Do Is A Balloon – Boards of Canada

14. Tokyo Ghost Stories – Arovane

15. Slow Down – Infinite Scale

16. 2112 Crescent Heights – Yasume

17. Deep – Melorman

18. Amatur Cartography – Obfusc

19. Soft Warmly Straw Coat – Near the Parenthesis

20. Zvenya – Winterlight