Waxahatchee announces new EP, shares new song

Waxahatchee, aka Katie Crutchfield, has announced a new EP called Great Thunder which comes out out September 7th via Merge. Crutchfield has shared a new music video for the lead track off the EP, “Chapel of Pines.” The video is directed by Christopher Good and it follows Crutchfield out in nature before things become surreal. Watch it and find the Great Thunder tracklist below.

Great Thunder EP:

01 Singer’s No Star
02 You’re Welcome
03 Chapel of Pines
04 You Left Me With an Ocean
05 Slow You Down
06 Take So Much

The Melodic Tree’s Weekly Playlist

1. Window – Coma Cinema

2. Veil – The Washboard Abs

3. Cassette Jam One – Ada Babar

4. Capacity – Big Thief

5. Bread – Ben Varian

6. Time On Her Side – Future Islands

7. Heart Basel – The Drums

8. Glowing Brightly – Florist

9. Losing All Sense – Grizzly Bear

10. Road Head – Japanese Breakfast

11. Never Been Wrong – Waxahatchee

12. Baybee – Jay Som

13. 123 – Girlpool

14. Star Roving – Slowdive

15. Hard to Say Goodbye – Washed Out

16. Appointments – Julien Baker

17. The Embers – Vagabon

18. Apocalypse – Cigarettes After Sex

19. Real Death – Mount Eerie

20. Kept Women – Fleet Foxes

Watch Waxahatchee’s new “Recite Remorse” video

Waxahatchee, aka Katie Crutchfield, has shared a new video for “Recite Remorse,” a track from her recently released album Out in the Storm. The ethereal video was directed by artist Ricardo Rivera. In a statement about the video, he said, “I created an immersive space with layered translucent fabric and video projections and filmed Katie Crutchfield reacting to those elements.” Watch it below.

New Elliott Smith tribute album will feature J. Mascis, Lou Barlow, Sun Kil Moon, more

Many of indie’s music’s greatest are paying homage to Elliott Smith with a new tribute album on October 14th.

Named Say Yes! A Tribute to Elliott Smith, the 15-track album features artists like J. Mascis,Waxahatchee, Lou Barlow, Juliana Hatfield, and Yuck take on songs from all over the late singer-songwriter’s discography. The American Laundromat Records release will also feature a collaborative cover of “Condor Avenue” by Jesu and Sun Kil Moon. The is artwork above.

Check out Hatfield’s cover of “Needle in the Hay” below. The track is the only non-exclusive cover on Say Yes!.

For more information on Say Yes!, including pre-order bundles with CD, LP, cassette, and digital formats, go here.

Last month, the soundtrack to Smith documentary Heaven Adores You had hit stores, featuring by previously unheard demos and rarities.

Say Yes! A Tribute to Elliott Smith Tracklist (alphabetized by song):
01. Waxahatchee – “Angeles”
02. Julien Baker – “Ballad Of Big Nothing”
03. Tanya Donelly – “Between The Bars”
04. Yuck – “Bled White”
05. Jesu/Sun Kil Moon – “Condor Ave”
06. Lou Barlow – “Division Day”
07. Wild Sun – “Easy Way Out”
08. Tomo Nakayama – “Miss Misery”
09. Juliana Hatfield – “Needle In The Hay”
10. Caroline Says – “No Name #3”
11. Adam Franklin – “Oh Well, Okay”
12. Amanda Palmer – “Pictures Of Me”
13. William Fitzsimmons – “Say Yes”
14. Escondido – “Waltz #1”
15. J. Mascis – “Waltz #2”

The Melodic Tree’s Weekly Playlist

1. Chinese New Year – Sales

2. Air – Waxahatche

3. Dust in the Gold Sack – Swearin’

4. Hadley, MA – California X

5. Tame – The History of Apple Pie

6. Teenage – Veronica Falls

7. First Love/Late Spring – Mitski

8. Above My Ground – Landlady

9. Southern Skies – Yuck

10. Teen Creeps – No Age

11. Chambers – Cymbals Eat Guitars

12. California Nights – Best Coast

13. Crystal Veins – Hanoi Janes

14. Bed Island – Christmas Island

15. Hair – Ganglians

16. No Time to Live – Times New Viking

17. Creepy Crawl – Lovvers

18. Black Sail – Chasity Belt

19. Borders – Honduras

20. Foot – Krill